Home » RDBMS Server » Server Administration » Number of applications accessing DB to increase, what should I be planning for?
Number of applications accessing DB to increase, what should I be planning for? [message #56156] Mon, 10 March 2003 00:36
Christopher Mikos
Hey, this is my first time posting, so please be gentle. I am not sure what information to include here. I have had one app with about 20 users connecting to my Oracle 8.1.7 server on W2K which then had a companion web app(using some flavor of Tomcat)which creates a connection pool with 20 connections. The hardware, SCSI RAID-5 with a hot spare, 1GB of RAM, Dual PIII 1GHz(with nothing specially configured in Oracle for them). I will be adding one more canned app which will access the DB which will probably end up having some kind of app server creating another connection pool for a companion web app, then I will have about 5 other custom built web apps which I have designed the schema's for and will be running the(JSP-Servlet) front ends through Apache-Tomcat(mod_jk)which will need(obviously)some connections from a pool(s). Right now the canned app and Tomcat are on the same hardware as Oracle(they are to be moved to my super duper web/app server though, and no future apps or web/app stuff will be running on the machine just Oracle)

So, having said all that!

I will be creating new tablespaces for all of these new apps(web or otherwise)and running the DDL scripts which I or the canned application provider will provide to implement the schemas. What should I look out for here?(i.e. effects of DDL on existing schema)

I was thinking of getting a storage rack so that I could have each system using a different RAID array?(put new tablespaces on them)

Connection Pools, should I let the canned apps have their own pools and use my pool for my custom apps or should I have one big pool for all of them(which may or may not be possible, due to configurability of canned apps)?